Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As I approach the end of another novel, I look to the stack of books under my window to see what I can tick off my “to read” list next. But lately I’ve been looking at it and feeling uninspired. So how do you figure out what you are really in the mood to read next?

Just check out these book list flowcharts, they make it easy to decide between dozens of options. Click on the images to see them in full size!

This Sci-Fi/Fantasy flowchart from NPR was floating around my social media circles last year, and it is still my favourite. Not content with a binary division of your interests? This one walks the middle ground, including hybrids, horror, and graphic novels too. It is by far the most comprehensive suggestion list I’ve ever seen, and much too difficult to pick a favourite in the bunch.

SFSignalNPR100Flowchart

Brought to us by happinessinsmiles at reddit, and this next chart was inspired by the one above. While the NPR Sci-Fi/Fantasy chart does include a few horror suggestions, the one below kicks it up a notch including a variety of classic and contemporary titles. My only complaint is that some of the titles are very difficult to read, and there are no captions below the book covers for clarity. I suggest jumping right to Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

jDd4E-1024x1024

Next up is a very tongue in cheek infographic from Goodreads, and it suggests some pretty good reads — if you can get past the snickers of “Hipster!” while reading them in your local fair-trade organic coffee shop. My faves on the list are Selby’s Last Exit to Brooklyn and — ok, I confess, the only other title I’ve read was Bechdel’s Fun Home graphic novel memoir. I’m too old to be a hipster anyways.

HIPSTERCHART

Last but not least is a flowchart of epic proportions created by the folks over at Teach.com . I love this one because it includes a large selection of non-fiction titles, something that is lacking in all other suggestion charts I’ve found. For readability, I think it would benefit from a slight edit to place these categories horizontally. According to this one, it looks like my next read is Kevin Mitnick’s autobiography, Ghost in the Wires.Teach.com-IG-Summer-Reading-Flow-Chart-Final-Draft-Not-Max

What kind of flowcharts would you like to see? I’d love to see more Canadian representation, or better yet a whole chart just for Can Lit!

Leave A Comment

